Get Certified Today
Fill Out & eSign the Medical Release Form to Start Your Certification Process:
- How do I set up an appointment with Boston Medical Marijuana Certification Clinics?
- What medical conditions are considered medical marijuana conditions?
- What medical documentation should I fax?
- How can I obtain my medical records?
- Where can I fax my medical records to be considered for a medical marijuana appointment?
- Do I need to be referred to BMMCC by another physician?
- How long will the certification last?
- How much marijuana could a qualifying patient obtain?
- How do I register as a medical marijuana patient with the state?
- Are qualifying patients eligible for medical marijuana under the new law starting January 1 while DPH is drafting its regulations?
- Will my insurance company cover the certification process, consultation or medical marijuana application?
First, fill out the and cover sheet. Please be sure to include your doctor’s name and phone number and send it in. The Boston Medical Marijuana Certification Clinic will contact your doctor to obtain your medical records. Once we’ve received your medical documents, we’ll call you to set up an appointment.
Patients must suffer from a debilitating medical condition, defined as:
• cancer, glaucoma or positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS), hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn’s disease, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease or nail patella.
• a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one of more of the following:
o cachexia or wasting syndrome;
o severe or chronic pain;
o severe nausea;
o seizures, including but not limited to those caused by epilepsy; or
o severe or persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to, those which are characteristic of multiple sclerosis; or
• any other medical condition or treatment for a medical condition that is defined as chronic and debilitating.
Our physicians require that each patient have current medical records within past 12 months that document the existence of one of the conditions for which medical marijuana is authorized under Massachusetts state law. You must either obtain your medical records yourself (which may involve a fee) and mail or fax them in to us, or you may authorize that your medical records be faxed or mailed to our office. BMMCC requires the records to be current within the 12 months and relate to your qualifying condition.
Our staff can obtain your medical records with a or you can call your physician or the hospital where you received treatment and tell them you need copies of your medical records. They will tell you the process of obtaining your medical records and usually have you sign an authorization form to release the records.
You may fax your records to:
• Fax Medical Records to 480-994-1014
Faxes must be 25 pages or less
It is your responsibility to make sure your medical records have arrived to our office in full and ready for review if you wish to be considered for a medical marijuana appointment.
No. BMMCC can evaluate anyone who feels that they can benefit from medical marijuana.
Certifications are valid for one year after your medical marijuana registration is approved. We recommend that you to make an appointment before the expiration date so that you can be re-evaluated and obtain a renewal of your physician certification for your Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Card.
The patient must obtain a written certification from a physician for a debilitating medical condition. The law specifies: cancer, glaucoma, AIDS, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Crohn’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, multiple sclerosis and other conditions as determined in writing by a qualifying patient’s physician. The law allows qualified patients to possess up to a 60-day supply of marijuana for their personal medical use. The law directs DPH to define a 60-day supply through regulation.
A qualifying patient would have to submit a signed written certification issued by the physician that stated that in the physician’s professional opinion the patient would likely receive therapeutic or symptom-relieving benefits from the medical use of marijuana to treat or alleviate a debilitating medical condition. The certification would have to specify the debilitating medical condition and be made in the course of a physician-patient relationship after the physician had completed a full assessment of the patient’s medical history. If the qualifying patient were under 18 years of age, the patient’s custodial parent or legal guardian would have to submit written certifications from two physicians, and the custodial parent or legal guardian would have to consent in writing to control the patient’s medical use of the marijuana.
Are qualifying patients eligible for medical marijuana under the new law starting January 1 while DPH is drafting its regulations?
During the time DPH is crafting its regulations, the ballot measure allows the written recommendation of a qualifying patient’s physician to act as a medical marijuana registration card. Similarly, the law allows a qualifying patient to cultivate their own limited supply of marijuana during this period. Under the law, until DPH issues its regulations, it is not involved in regulating any medical marijuana recommendations between physicians and patients, or in defining the limited cultivation registration.
Will my insurance company cover the certification process, consultation or medical marijuana application?
No. Nothing in the law requires any health insurance provider, or any government agency or authority, to reimburse any person for the expenses of the medical use of marijuana.